Chocolate chip crackers

2 Sep

My own personal Julie & Julia experiment is complete.

And my drastically less ambitious project to bake through all four of Betty Crocker’s gluten-free dessert mixes in whatever length of time needed has left me with an insatiable craving for sugar, a couple of extra pounds, and a mouthful of cottony dryness.

Perhaps I shouldn’t have consumed an entire container of Betty Crocker’s gluten free chocolate chip cookies, along with a few handfuls of popcorn, as my only sustenance throughout the workday today, but I had no way of anticipating the enormous amount of sodium I’d ingest from these crackers masquerading as dessert.

Perhaps the intense salty aftertaste is unsuccessfully attempting to mask the cookies’ distinct gluten-free aftertaste—a trait disappointingly shared with all gluten-free chocolate chip cookies in my experience.

But before delivering these two unpleasant surprises, the cookies manage to achieve an impossible combination of crisp and chewy and crumbly at the start of every bite. And in nearly every nibble is a delightful explosion of pure (not semi-) sweetness from the mix’s generous portion of chocolate chips.

The baking of these cookies was pleasant as well. Although, as promised by the box’s instructions, the batter proved quite crumbly, it formed firm, tablespoon-size mounds and transformed into perfectly finished cookies. And for that, the credit is due not to my capricious ovening skills, but to the Betty Crocker mix.

So I thank her for enabling small triumphs like this, and for contributing two delicious additions (yellow and devil’s food cake) to my gluten-free dessert menu. And, of course, for inspiring four posts on this short-lived Betty & Bianchi blog.

2 Responses to “Chocolate chip crackers”

  1. Wendy September 9, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Have you tried Pamela’s Chocolate Chunk Cookie mix? I made them once and a good friend of mine who doesn’t need to eat GF has now labeled them “magic” cookies. So now all my friends ask for the magic cookies. Maybe you won’t get that after taste. I don’t notice it, but I might not have as discerning a palette as you do. : )

    • glutenfreev September 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

      Wendy, thank you so much for visiting and for suggesting this mix. I haven’t tried it yet, but now I’ll be sure to!

      Oh, and you’re too kind to dub my palate discerning! I think I’m actually just excessively picky!

Leave a Reply

